AOS Football Play of the Week

AOS Football Play of the Week

July 10, 2015 - 10:32 am

AOS Play of the Week – 9/19/16

K21 is in his end zone to punt the ball. R54 rushes from the end and does a “swim move”. While doing so, he hits K23 in the face, knocking his helmet off. K23 continues to block the next man in, ie R50. K21 muffs the snap and the ball strikes the ground where R87 bats the ball. The ball strikes the pylon at the intersection of the goal line and sideline.

Foul(s) or Legal Play? If foul, specify foul: ILLEGAL PARTICIPATION ON K23, ILLEGAL BATTING ON R87

Type of Foul (loose ball or running): LOOSE

Basic Spot of Penalty Enforcement: PREVIOUS SPOT

Resulting Team’s Ball, Down & Distance: PREVIOUS SPOT, 4TH DOWN FOR K – OFFSETTING PENALTIES, REPLAY THE DOWN

Yard line of next play: Original LOS Clock Status: STARTS ON THE READY FOR PLAY

Why? CLOCK WAS RUNNING ON PREVIOUS PLAY

Options for Team: NONE

If you have a question on the “Play of the Week” email your question “HERE” 

AOSPOW@aosweb.org

AOS Play of the Week – 8/29/16

Play is in the 3rd quarter with 4:12 remaining.  On 4th and 2 from their own 20, Team A punts the ball where it hits the ground at Team A’s 21 yard line.  B23 B47 and B56 are watching the ball roll around, seemly waiting for it to come to a stop.  While doing that, B23 is blocked above the waist by A79, causing B47 to touch the ball.  In an attempt to get to the ball, A39 pushes B45 in the back above the waist, A85 recovers and downs the ball at Team A’s 27 yard line.  Team A coach wants the clock reset to 4:02.

Foul(s) or Legal Play?  If foul, specify foul:  LEGAL /NO FOUL

Type of Foul (loose ball or running):   N/A

Basic Spot of Penalty Enforcement:  N/A

Resulting Team’s Ball, Down & Distance:  A’s Ball 1st & 10

Yard line of next play:  Ball at A27

Clock Status:  SNAP

Why?  LEGAL KICK, NO FOUL

If you have a question on the “Play of the Week” email your question “HERE” 

AOSPOW@aosweb.org

Play of the week 9-9-2015

On a field goal attempt by A1 from the B15 yard line, holder A2 muffs the snap.  He attempts to gain possession of the ball and A1 kicks it through the uprights.

Foul(s) or Legal Play? ILLEGAL

Type of foul (loose ball or running) LOOSE

Basic spot of enforcement:  SPOT OF THE FOUL

Resulting team’s ball, Down & Distance:  REPLAY THE DOWN

Yard line of the next play:  B20

Clock & Status:  SNAP

 

Play of the week 8-31-2015

4th @ 10 from team A’s 20 yard line. They are in scrimmage kick formation. A32 is center and A40 and A41 are flanking him and set their feet behind A32. Punter A1 is lined up @ his 10 yard line. A32 gives a high snap which goes over A1’s head. A1 reaches up and tips the ball backwards. Ball is grounded and rolling around at the 5 yard line. Punter A1 kicks the ball into the end zone. Ball comes to rest outside the back pylon of the end zone.

What is the penalty, if any: ILLEGAL KICK

Clock status:  SNAP

Legal or Illegal:  ILLEGAL

Type of foul: LOOSE BALL

Spot of Enforcement: 5 Yd Line

Resulting Team’s Ball:  A’S BALL, 4TH & 2 1/2,  OR  CHOICE OF SAFETY BY DECLINING THE PENALTY

 

Play of the week 8-24-2015

3rd quarter, 3;42 left on the clock, 4th & 1 from team A 45 yard line. A1 scrambles for a 10 yard gain to the B45 where before he is down throws a forward pass to A2 who scores a TD.

ANSWER: ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS, LIVE BALL, TEAM B WILL HAVE TO ACCEPT THE PENALTY TO WIPE OUT THE TD, 5 YARD PENALTY FROM SPOT OF THE FOUL WHICH WAS THE 45 OF B, BALL PLACED ON THE 50, IT WILL BE FIRST & 10 FOR A SINCE THE BALL WAS BEYOND THE LINE TO GAIN, TIME LEFT ON CLOCK, LOSS OF DOWN DOES NOT COME INTO EFFECT SINCE THE BALL BECAME DEAD IN THE END ZONE, CLOCK STARTS ON SNAP.

Play Situations

Play of the week test-7/1/2015

“6.1.3 SITUATION B: After the ready for play and prior to the ball being kicked, Team K has five players to the left of the kicker and five players to the right of the kicker with the ball spotted at the K40. Prior to the ball being kicked, player K2: (a) has both feet just beyond the K35 (toward midfield); (b) has a foot touching the K35; (c) has one foot touching beyond the K35 toward the K36 and one foot behind the K35; or (d) K has both feet clearly beyond the K35 (toward midfield) but his hand is touching behind the K35 (toward K’s goal line). RULING:Legal in (a) and (d). Encroachment in (b) and (c).”

 

Play of the Week – 8/11/2008

K1 kicks off, the untouched kick is rolling inbounds toward the sideline on team R’s 5 yard line, where K6 legally blocks R1, causing him to fall into the ball, which then goes out of bounds on the team R’s 4 yard line.

Where will R put the ball in play? Is there a penalty? If so, where is it enforced?

Play of the Week – 8/18/2008

4th and 5 on team K’s 30 yard line.  K1’s short punt strikes the ground at his 35 yard line and untouched caroms back to K2’s 25 yard line.  At team K’s 25 yard line, R3 muffs the ball while trying to grab it and K8 falls on the ball at his 22 yard line.

It is 1st and 10 for a team? Who’s ball is it? Why?

Play of the Week – 8/25/2008

A’s ball 3rd & 10 from A’s 30 yard line.  A1 drops back to pass, but instead decides to run.  A1 advances to his 33 yard line, than throws a backward pass to A2.  A2 catches the pass at his own 27 and from there throws a forward pass that goes to A9 for a 25 yard gain.

Is this legal or illegal? What’s the penalty? What else should we be aware of?

Play of the Week – 9/8/2008

3rd and 5 from A’s 40 yard line.  A2 catches a pass at this 46 yard line and  takes a step to his 47 yard line where he is hit and fumbles.  The ball is touched by A5, A7 then B4 and then goes out of bounds at A’s 49 yard line.

Who’s ball is it? What’s the result of the play?

Play of the Week – 9/15/2008

K1’s punt is rolling downfield around team R’s 4 yard line when R5 intentionally kicks the ball into and out of team R’s end zone.

What is the result of play? Where would the penalty be enforced from? What is the penalty? What is the result after penalty?